​Rooster in the Shadows

Here’s  a poem from a while back when despair dealt me some. Anytime I read this, I’m reminded that just as the night seemed darkest, dawn is announced! 

Enjoy! 

About the time I took a peek

At the pitch dark wonder; so bleak

Of the mystery shielding the morning after

And what lurked behind in the greyish scatter

Just as a prelude to the Sun’s shine

The feeling of despair was mine.

Yes, mine it was, I’ll tell you.

I was to be in a state of ‘so fly’

Dreaming and recuperating

Totally oblivious to what was happening

But here I was, breaking nature’s code

And taking up this unfamiliar nature; the nocturnal mode.

It’s true; I had so much to do

I’d set my watch to suit me too

And right there in the deeply shadowed darkness

A mixture of cold foggy despair and starkness

Hit me like a bumpless beam

Happening without the slightest seam

And I recognised the frailty written into my body’s program, all miry bloody.

Without announcing, my soul began to sink

Stealthily into the reality rising slowly to the brink

That this uncanny night would last forever

And my forlorn state will never ebb, ever

It’s what and how my eyes saw, really

All my senses bore witness to the loud silence, ever so eerie.

As I could begin to taste bitter surrender to irrelevance

My eyes, in perhaps the final attempt to seek deliverance

Caught a movement beneath my calf

Fear initially sought to tear me in half

But Reason made me wait and seek to know

What assailed my perpetual misery flow

With a fluster and a disruption of my self-acclaimed final blows

A rooster leapt from its keep, the shadows

And proceeded in its life-long task of keeping time

And making a loud proclamation bereft of a mime.

So, I chided my faithless self, in this forsaken place

Which I created for myself in my face

Lay a little thing, maybe minute

That could come and excise my self-imposed pity right to the root

Though the night seemed so dreary

And nothing seemed to make me cheery

Just as darkness seemed to deal the last of its blows

Leapt a rooster from the shadows

Ready to proclaim a new dawn

And yes, misery’s sordid-tie lies undone!

‘But at midnight, there was a cry … ‘ (Matt 25:6 ASV)

