Conversations with Jeff

My visit to Ketu had met with several postponements but I succeeded in driving over last Friday. Oyin, my college buddy, and her husband, Sola had not failed to mention that I was sorely missed and Jeff, their little boy would love to have some time with me.

Jeff!
Since we met a few days after he was born, Jeff soundly commanded a great deal of my love. As I held him in my hands and hummed Newsboys’ Something Beautiful to him, it felt as a great part of me was laid there in my arms licking his small lips momentarily and just succeeding at being beautiful!

As I walked into their house and saw Jeff in his walker, punching the keys that played the various pre-recorded songs, I could not but smile.

“He’s grown so much since I saw him,” I told his mum as I picked him up. We, Jeff and I, started to talk. He mumbled and cooed. I smiled and arched my brows, replied and … we just talked! He showed me all the cool things he could do with his hands and his mouth. I could not help the burst of emotions that overtook me. He was so perfect. So, I told him “You’re so beautiful.”

I have come to believe that the knowledge of the scripture and the Word of God about anyone anywhere is what affects, charts and makes a way for any individual. And as the Psalmist says that we are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14), the reality of this should be drilled into anyone, even from birth, subtly and deliberately too so that that will form a foundation for how he sees himself from God’s point of view in His word. So, telling my child, as I told Jeff, he was beautiful was the first step in that.

As I mused over this, he grabbed my chin, pulled at my beard and I understood further that even though the kid was born to a family, he was the Lord’s. Children are the heritage of the Lord. He owns them even though they will bear our names and live with us; they are actually the Lord’s. The earlier I know this the better and the best for the child to know that he was in the hands of the Lord even if he will be considered my child.

I would definitely tell my child that he is the Lord’s. He is not mine, his mother’s or anyone’s. He is for God.  (Psalm 127:3-5) He would be in my care but the person who actually has him was God. God says all my children are his reward. So, all he will need will be provided for at the time they will be needed. I would tell him not to look up to me to provide everything (even though I would do my best to) but look up to God even from his very tender age. God is his Father much more than I am!

That night as I drove home, I kept going over the things I would love to tell my future children and the list had grown longer. But apart from the two I already said, I would also love to tell him to take an obvious step against the archenemy of faith: fear. Even though that seems to be the default reaction to life, God has not given us that spirit (Rom 8:15). He has rather given him the spirit of power, love and sound mind (2Tim 1:7). God’s word states in simple terms “do not fear”. This instruction is repeated severally throughout the scripture and this just proves the fact that fear will always come and he would have to always decide not to.

It is amazing how God deals with us. He has so many forms of relationships with us and a very salient form is that of a father and a child. I’m home and as I listen to O’Tunmise Ajani’s  Jolly (Safe in His hands), I realize that the safest place to be is in the hands of the capable Father!

One thought on “Conversations with Jeff

  1. Pingback: ​Some things I wish I knew when I was younger. | Will Remi Agun

Leave a Reply

